Those things about the Chinese Emperor – Is Long Live Really Long Live?

"Yellow Emperor Yao, Shun, Xia, Shang and Zhou, Spring and Autumn and Warring States were unified under Qin. The Han and Three Kingdoms were restored and the Jin was restored, and the Southern and Northern Dynasties faced each other. The Sui, Tang, Five Dynasties and ten kingdoms, Liao, Song, Xia, Jin, Yuan, Ming and Qing." - In Chinese history, there were 83 dynasties, 559 Emperors, including 397 emperors and 162 kings. Every emperor is a witness of the times, and their life stories have become stories that are talked about by future generations. We can often see actors calling the emperor "Long Live" in court film and television dramas, and this is true in history. But being an emperor...does he really live long? Let's read on~~

The emperor's job is actually a high-risk job?!


The term "Long Live" is originally a word for congratulations and blessings. Of course, "long live" can also be taken literally, that is, to hope to live for thousands of years, to live a long and healthy life, and to rule the country forever. But in fact the average age of emperors is onlyunder 40 years old, the average life expectancy is far lower than the national average level in the same period, which is a bit unbelievable. Being an emperor should not mean eating well, drinking well, sleeping well, and having a slight cold, countless imperial doctors will surround him. Why is this different from the actual situation? The position of the emperor is obviously a high-risk occupation that cannot be higher, so what is the reason for the short life of the emperor? Here are a few possible factors that contributed to the emperor's short life:

  1. Political struggles and court intrigue: In ancient China, political struggles and court intrigue were the norm. Emperors often had to deal with power struggles between different factions, which put them under extreme stress. Political struggles not only caused psychological burdens on the emperors, but also made them possible targets for assassination.
  2. psychological and mental stress: The status of emperor implies great political, military and national responsibilities. The internal and external pressure of the imperial court can lead to psychological and spiritual stress, which in turn can have a negative impact on physical health.
  3. health problems: China lacks modern medical technology in ancient times, and many diseases are difficult to obtain effective treatment.
  4. Hereditary and Genetic Diseases: Some emperors may be genetically influenced, making them more susceptible to specific diseases or health problems.
  5. succession struggle: Succession to the throne is often accompanied by struggles between brothers, which may lead to brutal confrontation and civil war between brothers, which may not only cause the dynasty to split, but also pose a great threat to the life of the emperor.
  6. Lifestyle and Nutritional Issues: The emperor enjoys a very high status and can have a luxurious lifestyle. However, overeating, lack of exercise, political involvement, sexual indulging and unhealthy living habits can all have serious health effects.

It can be seen from this that it is not easy to be an emperor with tens of millions of people. According to historical records, Chinese emperors lived longer than60 years old less than 13%, can't survive40 years old but as high as 60%. More than half of the emperors lived under 50 years old, only 5 lived over 80 years old, only 12 lived between 70-79 years old, only 98 lived between 50-69 years old, and those under 50 years old more than 200. From these data, it can be seen that the life span of Chinese emperors is relatively short. If it were you, would you be willing to be emperor (smirk)?

Image taken from Pixabay by ZXB Kevin

How long did the emperors live?


Qin Shihuang, the first emperor of the ages

When it comes to emperors, the first thing to mention is of course Qin Shihuang, the first emperor through the ages. Qin Shihuang (259 BC-210 BC), surnamed Ying, surnamed Zhao, named Zheng, also known as Zhao Zheng, was honored as "Ancestral Dragon" in some literary works. After inheriting the throne of Qin, he destroyed the six kingdoms and unified China.First Emperor, is the founding emperor of the Qin Dynasty. He is a famous statesman, strategist, and reformer in Chinese history. He is the first politician to complete the unification of China.The first monarch called "emperor". He reigned for 37 years, died on the way when he was on tour,49 years old.

China's only female emperor Wu Zetian

Wu Zetian (624 BC - 705 BC), named Wu Zhao, is a famous figure in Chinese history.The only orthodox female emperor,TooThe oldest emperor on the throne (67 years old), and also a long-lived emperor,aged 82. In 690 BC, Wu Zetian changed the name of the Tang Dynasty to "Zhou" and called it "Emperor of the Holy God" for 16 years. Empress Wu Zetian inherited the "Government of Zhenguan" and initiated the "Kaiyuan Prosperous Age". During her rule, the society and economy developed well. History has far-reaching implications.

longest reigning emperor kangxi

Emperor Kangxi (May 4, 1654-December 20, 1722), Aixinjueluo clan, named Xuanye, was the fourth emperor of the Qing Dynasty and the second emperor since the Qing Dynasty entered the customs. Emperor Kangxi ascended the throne at the age of 8, took charge at the age of 14, and reigned for 61 years.The longest reigning emperor in Chinese history. Emperor Kangxi collapsed and died in Qingxi Bookstore, Changchun Garden, Shuntianfu, Qing Dynasty.aged 69. Emperor Kangxi flattened the San Francisco and consolidated the imperial power of the Qing Dynasty; unified Taiwan, opened governments and established counties; emphasized agriculture and rivers, and built water conservancy; promoted culture and education, compiled classics, and was an outstanding military strategist and statesman.

The youngest emperor Liu Long

Emperor Liu Long of the Han Dynasty (105-September 21, 106), the youngest son of Hanhe Emperor Liu Zhao, the fifth emperor of the Eastern Han Dynasty, was just a hundred days old when he ascended the throne.He is the youngest emperor in Chinese history.I started BBQ when I was one year old, but also the shortest-lived emperor in Chinese history, posthumously titled Emperor Xiaoshang, is called "Emperor of August" or "Emperor of Hundred Days" by historians. "August Emperor" refers to the time when the emperor was less than eight months; while "Hundred Day Emperor" refers to the age when he ascended the throne, and the whole thing is a tragedy before the hundred days.

Puyi, the last emperor of China

Puyi (February 7, 1906-October 17, 1967), Aixinjueluo, courtesy name Yaozhi, nickname Haoran, foreign name Henry, was named "Xuantong" during his reign, also known as Emperor Xuantong , is the 12th emperor of the Qing Dynasty, and also the 10th emperor of the Qing Dynasty since entering the customs. He was the last emperor in Chinese history, alsoHe is the only emperor who ascended the throne three times and abdicated three times. On October 17, 1967, Pu Yi died of kidney cancer in Beijing Anti-Imperial Hospital.aged 62. Emperor Puyi was a puppet emperor when he was young, and he was also a prisoner of war. He became a citizen of New China in the second half of his life. He is a legendary emperor.

The great river goes east, the waves wash away, and there are romantic figures through the ages. Image via Pexels by Chris

Counting from the time when Qin Shihuang unified the six kingdoms and proclaimed himself emperor until the "last emperor" Pu Yi abdicated in 1912, China's monarchy lasted 2132 years. Among these emperors, there were those with great talents and strategies, those who opened up borders and territories, and naturally there were those who were mediocre. No matter how they rule, whether they are wise emperors or faint emperors, the existence of these emperors has shaped the development of Chinese history and culture, and they are worthy of our respect, research and inheritance.

external link


References


1. Order of Chinese Emperors

2. Chinese emperor - Wikipedia

3. List of Chinese monarchs - Wikipedia

4. The pictures in the article are all from the CC0 free gallery.

I am very grateful for your sharing!!!
MillionQuesn
Million Quesn

A foreigner living in Taiwan, sharing the highlights of a sudden flash of inspiration.

Articles: 46

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

error: Alert: Content selection is disabled!!

中國皇帝的那些事 – 萬歲真的萬歲嗎?

「黃帝堯舜夏商周,春秋戰國統於秦。兩漢三國復兩晉,南朝北朝相對峙。隋唐五代又十國,遼宋夏金元明清。」- 在中國歷史上,出現了83個王朝,559位帝王,其中包括了397位皇帝、162位王。每位皇帝都是時代的見證者,他們的生平事蹟成為了後人津津樂道的故事。我們經常能在宮廷影視劇中看到演員們稱呼皇帝為「萬歲」,而歷史上也確實如此。但是當皇帝…真的長壽嗎?讓我們接著看下去~~

皇帝這份工作,其實是高危職業?!


「萬歲」一詞本是慶賀、祝福的用詞。當然,「萬歲」也可以如字面上的意思,就是希望能活萬萬年,能健康長壽,統治國家萬世不衰。可實際上皇帝們的平均年齡只有不到40歲,平均壽命遠遠低於同時期全國的平均水平,這就有點匪夷所思了。當上了皇帝,不應該是吃好喝好,睡好拉好,一點小感冒就有無數的御醫圍著他繞,怎麼卻與實際情況不一樣呢?皇帝這個職位,很顯然是一個高得不能再高的高危職業,那究竟是甚麼原因造成皇帝短命呢?以下是幾個導致皇帝短命的可能因素:

  1. 政治鬥爭和宮廷陰謀:在古代中國,政治鬥爭和宮廷陰謀是常態。皇帝經常要應對不同派系間的爭權奪利,這使得他們處於極度的壓力之下。政治鬥爭不僅導致皇帝的心理負擔,同時也可能讓他們成為暗殺的目標。
  2. 心理和精神壓力 皇帝的身分意味著需要承擔極大的政治、軍事和國家責任。國朝宮廷的內外壓力可能導致心理和精神壓力,進而對身體健康產生負面影響。
  3. 健康問題:中國古代缺乏現代醫療技術,許多疾病難以得到有效的治療。
  4. 遺傳和基因疾病: 一些皇帝可能受到遺傳因素影響,使他們更容易受到特定疾病或健康問題的困擾。
  5. 繼位之爭:皇位的繼承經常伴隨著兄弟間的鬥爭,這些繼位之爭可能導致兄弟間的殘酷對立和內戰,不僅可能造成皇朝分裂,也對皇帝的壽命產生了極大的威脅。
  6. 生活方式和營養問題: 皇帝享有極高的地位,可以擁有奢華的生活方式。然而,過度飲食、缺乏運動、累於政事、沉溺淫樂和不健康的生活習慣等,都可能對健康造成嚴重影響。

由此可見,萬萬人之上的皇帝其實不好當。根據史料記載,中國皇帝壽命超過60歲的不到13%,活不到40歲的卻高達60%。皇帝壽命在50歲以下的佔了一半以上,壽命超過80歲的只有5位、壽命在70-79歲的只有12位、壽命在50-69歲的只有98位,而壽命在50歲以下的則超過了200位。從這些數據就能看出,中國皇帝的壽命都相對較短,如果換作是你,你願意當皇帝嗎(壞笑)?

圖片取自Pixabay by ZXB Kevin

名皇帝們的壽命究竟有多長?


千古一帝秦始皇

說到皇帝,首先要提的當然是千古一帝秦始皇。秦始皇(公元前259年-公元前210年),嬴姓,趙氏,名政,又名趙政,某些文學作品尊稱他為「祖龍」。繼承秦王位後滅六國,一統中國,稱始皇帝,是秦朝的開國皇帝。他是中國歷史上著名的政治家、戰略家、改革家,是首位完成華夏大一統的政治人物,也是古今中外第一個稱「皇帝」的君主。他在位37年,出巡時駕崩病死於途中,終年49歲

中國唯一女皇帝武則天

武則天(公元前624年-公元前705年),名武曌,是中國歷史上唯一的正統女皇帝,也是即位年齡最大的皇帝(67歲即位),同時也是一名高壽皇帝,享年82歲。武則天於公元前690年改唐國號為「周」,稱「聖神皇帝」,為帝16年。武則天上承「貞觀之治」,下啟「開元盛世」,在其統治國朝期間,社會經濟都得到良好發展, 革除時弊,完善科舉,不拘一格任用賢才,功績昭昭於世,對中國歷史影響深遠。

在位最長的皇帝康熙

康熙皇帝(1654年5月4日—1722年12月20日),愛新覺羅氏,名玄燁,清朝第4位皇帝,清朝自入關以來的第2位皇帝。康熙皇帝8歲登基,14歲親政,在位長達61年,是中國歷史上在位時間最長的皇帝。康熙皇帝崩逝於大清順天府暢春園清溪書屋內,享年69歲。康熙皇帝削平三藩,鞏固清朝皇權;統一台灣,開府設縣;重農治河,興修水利;興文重教,編纂典籍,是一名傑出的軍事家、政治家。

年齡最小的皇帝劉隆

漢殤帝劉隆(105年—106年9月21日),漢和帝劉肇少子, 東漢的第5任皇帝,登基時離出生剛滿百天,是中國歷史上繼位年齡最小的皇帝,一歲時就BBQ了,同時也是中國歷史上壽命最短的皇帝, 諡號孝殤皇帝,被史學家稱為「八月皇帝」或「百日皇帝」。「八月皇帝」是指當皇帝的時間,只有不到八個月;而「百日皇帝」則是登基時的歲數,未滿百日,整個就一悲劇。

中國最後的皇帝溥儀

溥儀(1906年2月7日—1967年10月17日),愛新覺羅氏,字曜之,號浩然,洋名亨利(Henry),在位期間年號為「宣統」,也稱宣統帝,是清朝第12任皇帝,也是清朝自入關以來的第10任皇帝。他是中國歷史上的末任皇帝,也是唯一登基三次和退位三次的皇帝。1967年10月17日,溥儀因腎臟癌在北京反帝醫院病逝,享年62歲。溥儀皇帝年少當過傀儡皇帝,也曾經成為過戰俘,後半生又成為了新中國的公民,是一位頗具傳奇色彩的皇帝。

大江東去,浪淘盡,千古風流人物。圖片取自Pexels by Chris

自秦始皇嬴政統一六國稱帝算起,一直到1912年「末代皇帝」溥儀退位,中國的君主制持續了2132年。在這些皇帝之中,有雄才偉略的、有開疆拓土的、那自然也有碌碌無為的。不論他們的統治如何,是明君抑或者是昏君,這些皇帝的存在塑造了中國歷史和文化的發展,都值得我們尊重、研究和傳承。

外部連結


參考資料


1. 中國皇帝順序表

2. 中國皇帝 – 維基百科

3. 中國君主列表 – 維基百科

4. 文章圖片均源自於CC0免費圖庫。

您的分享,我非常感激!!!
MillionQuesn
MillionQuesn

一個旅居台灣的異鄉人,分享突然靈光一現的亮點。

文章: 46

發佈留言

發佈留言必須填寫的電子郵件地址不會公開。 必填欄位標示為 *

error: Alert: Content selection is disabled!!